Why I’d Follow a Purple Polka Dot Jesus

Brian Jakowski
3 min readSep 18, 2021

By Brian Jakowski

Abstract multi colored/racial Jesus
Image — Brian Jakowski

Sorry to burst your bubble but, Jesus wasn’t a white guy, an Anglo-Saxon, protestant, or Christian. These truths have no effect on why I believe in Jesus, or why I try to live for Him!

So, what did He look like, and why do I believe? Let’s begin with the question that has no impact on my life, Jesus’ color or race.

We all bring predisposed beliefs to the table when talking about Jesus and Christianity. Watch this short video and see if it trips a few of your triggers:

You’re not alone if you can relate to any of that.

A Framework for Racism

Since the renaissance, Jesus has been portrayed as a white guy in paintings and more recently, in films. This lie has fueled delusional white supremacist beliefs for decades. It has no truth but goes something like this.

The Bible says, I’m created in God’s image and I’m white, so God must be white. Since God's white, I must be superior.

With hate, Satan

--

--

Brian Jakowski

I’m a retired chef, missionary and pastor. I write on what the Lord puts on my heart and a bit on food and travel